Jan Van Stalle's Duiven Paginas

Pigeon breeds

Tipplers

I got my first tipplers in 2005 from Wilfried Van Poucke. The strain is currently known as Merediths. The most distinguishing feature of these birds is the black colour, the black nails and naked eye area. The strain was cultivated by Cyriel Meredith (England) on imported into the Netherlands in 1963 by Herman van den Broek. At the origin these are sheffield type tipplers mixed with some other breeds (Manchesters, Hughes, ...). In 1971 J. Van Ouwerkerk from Braschaat (Belgium) imported 3 couples into Belgium and fixed many times the Belgian record between 1984 and 1991 (19:25). In turn, Wilfried Van Poucke got his birds from Mr Van Ouwerkerk in 1990.

At the end of 2006 I also got some red Sheffields from A.S. Knobbout from the Netherlands. This Dutch line was founded by Mr Spelt, Van de Wel, Kreeftmeijer and van den Broek, and goes back to 1971, with import at that time from England from Sam Billingham, together with some Merediths, Hughes and Manchesters.

For the breeding season of 2008 I prepared 6 pairs of merediths and 1 pair of sheffields; I also crossed one sheffield cock with a meredith hen because my second sheffield hen died early 2008; this is more than enough for my loft. The mixed pair is an experiment in order to get some new blood into my meredith line.

Budapester Highflyers

In August 2008 I purchased three pairs of Budapester Highflyers from Josef Federer (Germany - Eching). Of course, I cannot let them fly for the moment with the risk of loosing them. I also got 7 young birds from Ben Hafmans (the Netherlands - Nuland). After some week in the aviary I got them flying but I lost three of them in the beginning of September. They really go very high and you loose sight for more then one hour.

The Dutch birds are a little bit more robust and they lack feathers on their legs. The head is more rounded. In the beginning they were all very nervous but after a few weeks this problem got solved.

4/1/2009: I added some photo's of cocks and hens; in contrast to other pigeon races, the males and females can be more easily distinguished : the cock has a more robust head, with a shorter beak and broader nose; the hens have a slightly longer and thinner beak, and the nose is not so developed.

Top

Jan Van Stalle's Duiven Paginas

Les races de pigeon

Tipplers

En 2005, j'ai procuré mes premiers tipplers chez Wilfried Van Poucke. Ce sont des "Meredith tipplers". C'est une race qui est caractérisée par sa couleur noire, le bec et les ongles noirs, et le contour nu des yeux. La race a été mise au point par Cyriel Meredith (Angleterre) et importée dans les Pays-Bas en 1963 par Herman Van Den Broeck. En fait, ce sont des tipplers du type "Sheffield", avec un encroisement d'autres races (Manchester, Hughes, ...). En 1971, J. Van Ouwerkerk de Brasschaat a importé 3 couples en Belgique, originaire de Van Den Broeck, et il a fait plusieurs fois le record Belge entre 1984 et 1991 (19:25). Wilfried Van Poucke a procuré ses pigeons chez Mr. Van Ouwerkerk au début des années 90.

Fin 2006, je me suis procuré un couple de "Sheffield" chez A.S. Knobbout (Pays-Bas). Cette ligne représente des pigeons "rouges" ou "jaunes" et ils semblent légèrement plus robuste que les merediths. La ligne Néerlandaise, avec à l'origine Mr Spelt, Van Der Wel, KreeftMeijer et Van Den Broeck, va jusqu'à 1971, l'année que la race a été importée de l'Angleterre avec des pigeons de Sam Billingham, et un import de Merediths, Hughes et Manchesters.

Pour le saison 2008, j'avais 6 couples de meredith et un couple de Sheffield; j'ai aussi un couple hybride sheffield X meredith parce que j'avais perdu la deuxième femelle sheffield (problème de pondre un oeuf). Pour moi, ce nombre de pigeons est largement assez, sinon, il devient difficile de suivre en entraîner les jeunes.

Haut-volants de Budapest

Dans l'été 2008, je me suis procuré trois couples d'haut-volants de Budapest chez Josef Federer, un éleveur habitant en Allemagne. Naturellement, je ne peux pas les laisser voler à risque des les perdre, mais je suis curieux de voir comment les jeunes vont réagir en 2009. J'ai aussi eu la chance de trouver 7 jeunes en Pays-Bas chez Ben Hafmans. Ceux ont voler chez moi en vont effectivement très haut, sur une hauteur qu'il deviennent invisible, mêmes en les suivant avec des jumelles.

Comparé avec leur collègues Néerlandaises, les exemplaires Allemands sont légèrement plus petits, et ils ont les pattes couvertes de plumes; ils sont aussi plus nerveux, mais ceci me paraît normal, car il s'agît d'exemplaires adultes que je n'ai pas pu entraîner moi-même.

4/1/2009: j'ai ajouté quelques photos des mâles et des femelles; les différences entre les deux sexes est mieux visible que chez beaucoup d'autres races de pigeons: la tête est plus grande et le bec du mâle et plus court et mieux développé que chez la femelle.

Top